2016 Dodd Trophy Mid-Season Watch List

Eighteen head coaches named for national coaching award.

ATLANTA (October 28, 2016) – Officials from the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation and Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl today released the mid-season watch list for the 2016 Dodd Trophy. The list includes 18 of the nation’s top college football coaches representing all Power 5 conferences, the American Athletic Conference, Mid-American Conference and Mountain West Conference.

The head coaches on the watch list represent programs with the highest ideals of leadership, scholarship and integrity on and off the field – the three pillars of legendary coach Bobby Dodd’s philosophy. Each of the coaches sits at the helm of programs with winning records, superior Academic Progress Rate (APR) scores and graduation rates, as well as a strong commitment to service within their communities.

“We are at the midpoint of the college football season and in our opinion, these 18 head coaches have separated themselves from the rest of the pack,” said Jim Terry, Chairman of the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation. “Whether it is their current on-field success, high academic standing or community involvement, these are the coaches who have best represented what the Dodd Trophy is all about.”

The 2016 Dodd Trophy Mid-Season Watch List:

Coach School Conference Current AP Ranking Past Winner
Paul Chryst Wisconsin Big Ten No. 11  
Larry Fedora North Carolina ACC No. 21  
P.J. Fleck Western Michigan MAC No. 20  
Jim Harbaugh Michigan Big Ten No. 2  
Bryan Harsin Boise State Mountain West No. 13  
Dana Holgorsen West Virginia Big 12 No. 10  
Mike MacIntyre Colorado Pac-12 No. 23  
Gus Malzahn Auburn SEC No. 15  
Jim McElwain Florida SEC No. 14  
Urban Meyer Ohio State Big Ten No. 6  
Ken Niumatalolo Navy American No. 22  
Chris Petersen Washington Pac-12 No. 4 2010 Dodd Trophy
Mike Riley Nebraska Big Ten No. 7  
Nick Saban Alabama SEC No. 1 2014 Dodd Trophy
Bob Stoops Oklahoma Big 12 No. 16 2003 Dodd Trophy
Kevin Sumlin Texas A&M SEC No. 9  
Dabo Swinney Clemson ACC No. 3 2011 Dodd Trophy
Kyle Whittingham Utah Pac-12 No. 17  

“The Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl is proud to manage the Dodd Trophy,” said Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Chairman Percy Vaughn. “All of these fine coaches have achieved tremendous success this season and are certainly deserving of this recognition.”

As the season continues, an updated watch list will be released in November.

A voting panel of all previous winners, plus a committee made up of national college football media members, a member of the Dodd family and two College Football Hall of Fame members will determine the 2016 recipient. The winner of The Dodd Trophy will be announced in Atlanta during Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl week.




About the Dodd Trophy
The Dodd Trophy was established in 1976 to honor the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision (formerly Division 1A) head football coach whose program represents the highest ideals on and off the field. The award honors the coach of a team which enjoys a successful football season, while also stressing the importance of academic excellence and character, as did Coach Dodd’s teams during his 22 years as head football coach of the Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets. Coach Dodd remains one of college football’s legendary figures, both as a coach and a player. Coach Dodd was a native of Galax, Virginia, and played his college ball at the University of Tennessee where his team had 27 wins, one loss and two ties during the three years he played. Coach Dodd was selected to the National College Football Hall of Fame both as a coach and as a player. Additional information about the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation can be found at www.TheDoddTrophy.com. For news, updates and insider information, follow us on Twitter at @DoddTrophy or find us on Facebook at www.Facebook.com/DoddTrophy.


About the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl
The Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl the ninth-oldest bowl game in the country and one of New Year’s Six Bowls selected to host the College Football Playoff. In 2014 and 2015, the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl hosted top nationally ranked teams as assigned by the College Football Playoff Selection Committee. In 2016, the Bowl will host its first College Football Playoff Semifinal (#1 vs. #4 or #2 vs. #3). The Bowl has earned a reputation as one of the most competitive bowls in the country, with 54 percent (26 of 48) of its games being decided by a touchdown or less. Peach Bowl, Inc. has disbursed $150 million in team payouts during its 48-year history and has increased team payout every year since 1996. The Bowl also leads all other bowl game organizations in charitable and scholarship contributions, giving more than $19.8 million to organizations in need since 2002. More information about the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl and its events is available at www.Chick-fil-APeachBowl.com. For news, updates and insider information, follow us on Twitter at @CFAPeachBowl or find us on Facebook at www.Facebook.com/ChickfilAPeachBowl.