2018 Dodd Trophy Midseason Watch List

17 coaches named to midseason watch list, including four former winners

ATLANTA (October 11, 2018) – Officials from the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation and Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl released the midseason watch list for the 2018 Dodd Trophy. The list includes 17 of the nation’s top college football coaches representing six conferences and Notre Dame.

The Dodd Trophy, college football’s most coveted coaching award, celebrates the head coach of a team who enjoys success on the gridiron, while also stressing the importance of scholarship, leadership and integrity – the three pillars of legendary coach Bobby Dodd’s philosophy.

The midseason watch list was created through a selection process by the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation and the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl, taking into consideration each program’s graduation rate, current performance during the 2018 season, Academic Progress Rate (APR), as well as commitment to service and charity in the community.

Of the 17 coaches on the midseason watch list, the ACC, Big Ten, Big 12 and SEC all lead the way with three coaches represented. Nine of the 17 coaches remain undefeated going into week seven.

This year’s midseason watch list includes four former winners of the Dodd Trophy with Mike MacIntyre (2016), Chris Petersen (2010), Nick Saban (2014) and Dabo Swinney (2001) all making the list. Additionally, four of the coaches were finalists for last year’s award, including Paul Chryst, Mark Richt, Kirby Smart and Dabo Swinney.

“We know this is a different kind of Coach of the Year award.  The Dodd Trophy doesn’t just reflect success on the field, it tries to measure the ‘whole’ coach and his positive impact on his players, school and community,” said Jim Terry, chairman of the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation. “Each coach on this list represents more than wins and losses.  We celebrate coaches who try to live up to Coach Dodd’s example of scholarship, leadership and integrity.”

The 2018 Dodd Trophy Midseason Watch List:

Coach School Conference Current AP Ranking Current Record APR Score
Paul Chryst Wisconsin Big Ten No. 15 4-1 986
Dave Doeren N.C. State ACC No. 20 5-0 964
Luke Fickell Cincinnati American No. 25 6-0 982
James Franklin Penn State Big Ten No. 8 4-1 980
Jim Harbaugh Michigan Big Ten No. 12 5-1 990
Tom Herman Texas Big 12 No. 9 5-1 972
Dana Holgorsen West Virginia Big 12 No. 6 5-0 950
Brian Kelly Notre Dame Independent No. 5 6-0 966
Mike MacIntyre Colorado Pac-12 No. 19 5-0 970
Ed Orgeron LSU SEC No. 13 5-1 956
Chris Petersen Washington Pac-12 No. 7 5-1 986
Mark Richt Miami ACC No. 16 5-1 964
Lincoln Riley Oklahoma Big 12 No. 11 5-1 956
Nick Saban Alabama SEC No. 1 6-0 984
Kirby Smart Georgia SEC No. 2 6-0 963
Charlie Strong USF American No. 23 5-0 960
Dabo Swinney Clemson ACC No. 4 6-0 987

Considering the Dodd Trophy represents more than just a coach’s performance on the field, a coach in his first year, who has not had a full season to establish his own impact on APR and the local community, is not eligible to win.

“We have a very competitive field vying for this year’s Dodd Trophy halfway through the season,” said Gary Stokan, Peach Bowl, Inc. CEO & President. “We look forward to seeing which coaches can separate themselves from the rest of the pack as we get into the heart of conference play these next few weeks.”

A panel consisting of all previous winners, national media, a member of the Dodd family and a College Football Hall of Fame members will identify a list of finalists at the conclusion of the 2018 season. The winner of the 2018 Dodd Trophy will be announced in Atlanta during Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Week.