Alabama Head Coach Nick Saban wins 2014 Dodd Trophy

ATLANTA — Officials from the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation and the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl today announced that Alabama Head Coach Nick Saban has been named the winner of the 2014 Dodd Trophy.

Presented annually by the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl, The Dodd Trophy, college football’s preeminent coach of the year award, honors the head football coach whose program embodies the award’s three pillars of scholarship, leadership and integrity, while also having success on the playing field throughout the season. ”On behalf of the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation, we congratulate Coach Saban,“ said Jim Terry, chairman of the Dodd Foundation. ”His success on and off the field this season made our decision an easy one. He represents the pinnacle of coaching achievement. At Alabama, he has not only built an exceptional football program, but has prepared a community of young men to be leaders in the world, ensuring that Coach Dodd’s legacy will continue for generations to come.“

”We’re proud to present college football’s most prestigious coaching award, and strongly believe in the tenets it represents,“ added Gary Stokan, president and CEO of the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl. ”Coach Saban has long exhibited the ideals that are emblematic of Coach Dodd — leadership, scholarship and integrity — so we are honored to recognize him and the impact he has had on his student-athletes and on the Alabama community.“

Saban firmly believes in giving back to the community and does so via his foundation, the Nick’s Kids Fund, which has distributed more than $4 million to more than 150 charities since 2007. This year alone, Nick’s Kids has awarded more than $600,000 to state and local organizations.

As a team, Saban’s squad boasts an impressive Academic Progress Rate of 975, which ranks third in the SEC, and a graduation rate of 73%. 7 members of this year’s # 1 ranked team will have earned their master’s degree and together 22 student athletes that will play in the Sugar Bowl will graduate from Alabama.

With a head coach leading by example, members of the Crimson Tide squad have also thrived in the community. In November, quarterback Blake Sims was named Southeastern Conference Football Community Service Team Player of the Week. Sims regularly volunteers at a local middle school, encouraging students to stay in school and also collects money from teammates for Project Angel Tree during the holiday season.

In addition, Landon Collins was named a 2014 Lott IMPACT Trophy Semifinalist. The Lott IMPACT Trophy honors college football’s best defensive player who best exemplifies the tenants of the award including integrity, maturity, performance, academics, community and tenacity on and off the field.

On the field, Saban led the No. 1 Alabama to a 12-1 season in 2014, highlighted by the Crimson Tide’s 24th SEC Championship and a No. 1 seed in the inaugural College Football Playoff semifinals.

The winner of the Dodd Trophy is determined by a panel consisting of all previous winners, national media, a member of the Dodd family, and a College Football Hall of Fame member.

About the Dodd Trophy

The Dodd Trophy was established in 1976 to honor the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision (formerly Division 1A) head football coach whose program represents the highest ideals on and off the field. The award honors the coach of a team which enjoys a successful football season, while also stressing the importance of academic excellence and character, as did Coach Dodd’s teams during his 22 years as head football coach of the Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets. Coach Dodd remains one of college football’s legendary figures, both as a coach and a player. Coach Dodd was a native of Galax, Virginia, and played his college ball at the University of Tennessee where his team had 27 wins, one loss and two ties during the three years he played. Coach Dodd was selected to the National College Football Hall of Fame both as a coach and as a player. Additional information about the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation can be found at

About the Chick-fil-A Bowl

The Chick-fil-A Bowl is the ninth-oldest bowl game in the country and hosts the longest-running rivalry series between the ACC and SEC. Now in its 47th year, the Chick-fil-A Bowl has established itself as one of the nation’s elite bowl games with a string of 17 consecutive sellouts and has earned a reputation as one of the most competitive bowls in the nation. Fifty-seven percent of its games have been decided by a touchdown or less. The Chick-fil-A Bowl has disbursed more than $125 million in team payouts over its 46-year history and has increased team payout every year since 1996. The Bowl also leads all other bowl games in charitable and scholarship contributions, giving more than $17 million to organizations in need since 2002. Other events under the Chick-fil-A Bowl brand include the Chick-fil-A Bowl Challenge charity golf tournament each spring and the Chick-fil-A Kickoff Game season-opening game over Labor Day weekend.

More information about the Chick-fil-A Bowl and its events is available at For news, updates and insider information, follow us on Twitter at @ChickfilABowl or find us on Facebook at