Celebrating Bobby Bowden’s 35th Anniversary

ATLANTA (November 5, 2015) – The Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation and Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl will celebrate legendary coach Bobby Bowden’s 35th year anniversary of winning the national coaching award on November 14 during the Seminoles’ home football game against N.C. State. The presentation will take place on field between the first and second quarters.

“We’re very excited to have Coach Bowden come back. It’s called Bobby Bowden Field at Doak Campbell Stadium for a reason – he’s one of the greatest coaches of all-time,” said FSU Head Football Coach Jimbo Fisher. “He’s the man that built FSU from the ground up. My hat is off to him. He had a tremendous career. I have a great appreciation for what he accomplished here and for what he stands for as a man.”

The Dodd Trophy celebrates the head coach of a team who enjoys success on the gridiron, while also representing programs with the highest ideals of scholarship, leadership and integrity on and off the field – the three pillars of legendary coach Bobby Dodd’s philosophy.

“The ideals of scholarship, leadership and integrity on and off the field that the Dodd Trophy celebrates could not be better personified than in Bobby Bowden,” said FSU President John Thrasher. “It was an honor to have him represent Florida State University every day of his 34 years as our head coach.”

Coach Bowden was awarded The Dodd Trophy in 1980 after a 10-2 season and a No. 5 final ranking at Florida State. Both losses the Seminoles faced that year came by one-point, including an 18-17 defeat in the Orange Bowl. Furthermore that season, defensive back Keith Jones earned first-team Academic All-American honors while wide receiver Phil Williams was awarded the NCAA Post-Graduate Scholarship.

During his tenure as head coach of Florida State from 1976-2009, Coach Bowden led the Seminoles to two national championships and 12 ACC titles. In 34 seasons, his teams played in 32 bowl games and he suffered just one losing season, his first year on the job. He finished his time in Tallahassee with a career record of 304-97-4.

“Whenever an opportunity presents itself for us to celebrate a legendary head coach like Bobby Bowden, it’s our distinct honor and pleasure,” said Jim Terry, Chairman of the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation. “We are thrilled to be able to celebrate his 35th anniversary of The Dodd Trophy with the Seminole faithful.”

“Coach Bowden’s success at Florida State was truly remarkable not only as a coach on the field, but off the field as well,” said Gary Stokan, President & CEO of the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl. “His leadership in building a program and a positive culture with his players at Florida State was outstanding.”

“I know I speak for all Florida State fans in saying that it will be a tremendous honor to host the celebration of Bobby Bowden’s Dodd Trophy at our NC State game,” said FSU Director of Athletics Stan Wilcox. “I can go a step further because of the great respect and affection that the college football world has for Coach Bowden and suggest that it will be a great day for the college game in general.”

Since 2014, officials from the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation and Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl have celebrated the major anniversaries of previous winners of The Dodd Trophy by honoring them on-field during a game on their campus. Last year, inaugural winner Vince Dooley was recognized at the University of Georgia. This year, in addition to Bobby Bowden, Bobby Ross will be honored at Georgia Tech to mark the 25th anniversary of winning The Dodd Trophy.

The winner of the 2015 Dodd Trophy will be announced in Atlanta during Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Week. A panel consisting of all previous winners, national media, a member of the Dodd family and a College Football Hall of Fame member will identify the final list of potential recipients at the conclusion of the 2015 season.

Previous Winners of The Dodd Trophy:

Year Coach School
1976 Vince Dooley University of Georgia
1977 Bo Schembechler University of Michigan
1978 Tom Osborne University of Nebraska
1979 LaVell Edwards Brigham Young University
1980 Bobby Bowden Florida State University
1981 Joe Paterno Penn State University
1982 George MacIntyre Vanderbilt University
1983 Ken Hatfield U.S. Air Force Academy
1984 Jim Wacker Texas Christian University
1985 Fisher DeBerry U.S. Air Force Academy
1986 Dick Sheridan N.C. State
1987 Dick MacPherson Syracuse University
1988 Don Nehlen West Virginia University
1989 Bill Curry University of Alabama
1990 Bobby Ross Georgia Tech
1991 George Welsh University of Virginia
1992 Eddie Robinson Grambling State University
1993 Barry Alvarez University of Wisconsin
1994 Fred Goldsmith Duke University
1995 Gary Barnett Northwestern University
1996 Bob Sutton U.S. Military Academy
1997 Mike Price Washington State University
1998 Bill Snyder Kansas State University
1999 Frank Beamer Virginia Tech
2000 George O’Leary Georgia Tech
2001 Ralph Friedgen University of Maryland
2002 Jim Tressel The Ohio State University
2003 Bob Stoops University of Oklahoma
2004 Paul Johnson U.S. Naval Academy
2005 Joe Paterno Penn State University
2006 Jim Grobe Wake Forest University
2007 Lloyd Carr University of Michigan
2008 Mack Brown University of Texas
2009 Gary Patterson Texas Christian University
2010 Chris Petersen Boise State University
2011 Dabo Swinney Clemson University
2012 Bill Snyder Kansas State University
2013 David Cutcliffe Duke University
2014 Nick Saban University of Alabama

The Dodd Trophy was established in 1976 to honor the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision (formerly Division 1A) head football coach whose program represents the highest ideals on and off the field. The award honors the coach of a team which enjoys a successful football season, while also stressing the importance of academic excellence and character, as did Coach Dodd’s teams during his 22 years as head football coach of the Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets. Coach Dodd remains one of college football’s legendary figures, both as a coach and a player. Coach Dodd was a native of Galax, Virginia, and played his college ball at the University of Tennessee where his team had 27 wins, one loss and two ties during the three years he played. Coach Dodd was selected to the National College Football Hall of Fame both as a coach and as a player. More information about The Dodd Trophy is available at TheDoddTrophy.com.

The Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl is the ninth-oldest bowl game in the country and is one of New Year’s Six Bowls selected to host the College Football Playoff. In 2014 and 2015, the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl will host games of top nationally ranked teams as assigned by the College Football Playoff Selection Committee. In 2016, the Bowl will host its first Playoff Semifinal (#1 vs. #4 or #2 vs. #3). The Bowl has sold out 18 of the last 20 years and has earned a reputation as one of the most competitive bowls in the country, with 55% of its games being decided by a touchdown or less. The Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl has disbursed more than $137 million in team payouts over its 47-year history and has increased team payout every year since 1996. The Bowl also leads all other bowl games in charitable and scholarship contributions, giving more than $17.5 million to organizations in need since 2002. More information about the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl and its events is available at Chick-fil-APeachBowl.com. For news, updates and insider information, follow us on Twitter or find us on Facebook.