Celebrating Bobby Ross’s 25th Anniversary

ATLANTA (November 9, 2015) – The Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation and Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl will honor coach Bobby Ross’s 25th year anniversary of winning the national coaching award on Thursday, November 12 during the Jackets’ home football game against Virginia Tech. The presentation will take place on field between the first and second quarters.

The Dodd Trophy celebrates the head coach of a team who enjoys success on the gridiron, while also representing programs with the highest ideals of scholarship, leadership and integrity on and off the field – the three pillars of legendary coach Bobby Dodd’s philosophy.

Coach Ross was awarded The Dodd Trophy in 1990 after an 11-0-1 record, an ACC Championship and a share of the national championship by finishing first in the Coaches’ Poll at Georgia Tech. The team won the Coaches Poll by a single point, 847-846, over Colorado. That season, two Jackets earned Academic All-ACC recognition and fullback Stefen Scotton earned first-team Academic All-American honors.

“The 1990 football season is remembered as one of the greatest team performances in Georgia Tech history, including a historic win over No. 1 Virginia,” said Georgia Tech Director of Athletics Mike Bobinski. “That season had many defining moments and included some all-time Tech greats. We remain tremendously proud of what Coach Bobby Ross and his team accomplished that season and we look forward to their much deserved recognition Thursday night.”

During his time as head coach of Georgia Tech from 1987-1991, Coach Ross had an overall record of 31-26-1, including the undefeated season in 1990. The following year he led the Yellow Jackets to an 8-5 season and win in the 1991 Aloha Bowl over Stanford.

Overall as a head coach, Ross compiled a collegiate record of 103-101-2 and a NFL record of 77-68. In addition to his split national championship in 1990, he won four ACC championships, three during his time at Maryland, and an AFC Championship in 1994 when he was coaching the San Diego Chargers.

“We could not be any happier than to have the opportunity to recognize Bobby Ross at Georgia Tech nonetheless,” said Jim Terry, Chairman of the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation. “As a Coach, he represented everything the Dodd Trophy stands for and we are excited to honor him with the rest of the Yellow Jacket family.”

Since 2014, officials from the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation and Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl have celebrated the major anniversaries of previous winners of The Dodd Trophy by honoring them on-field during a game on their campus. Last year, inaugural winner Vince Dooley was recognized at the University of Georgia. This year, in addition to Bobby Ross, Bobby Bowden will be honored at Florida State to mark the 35th anniversary of winning The Dodd Trophy.

“Coach Ross not only led his players to an extremely high level of success on and off the field, but he mentored a successful tree of future head coaches who also went on to win The Dodd Trophy,” said Gary Stokan, President & CEO of the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl. “Frank Beamer, George O’Leary and Ralph Friedgen all started their coaching careers under his legendary tutelage.”

The winner of the 2015 Dodd Trophy will be announced in Atlanta during Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Week. A panel consisting of all previous winners, national media, a member of the Dodd family and a College Football Hall of Fame member will identify the final list of potential recipients at the conclusion of the 2015 season.

Previous Winners of The Dodd Trophy:

Year Coach School
1976 Vince Dooley University of Georgia
1977 Bo Schembechler University of Michigan
1978 Tom Osborne University of Nebraska
1979 LaVell Edwards Brigham Young University
1980 Bobby Bowden Florida State University
1981 Joe Paterno Penn State University
1982 George MacIntyre Vanderbilt University
1983 Ken Hatfield U.S. Air Force Academy
1984 Jim Wacker Texas Christian University
1985 Fisher DeBerry U.S. Air Force Academy
1986 Dick Sheridan N.C. State
1987 Dick MacPherson Syracuse University
1988 Don Nehlen West Virginia University
1989 Bill Curry University of Alabama
1990 Bobby Ross Georgia Tech
1991 George Welsh University of Virginia
1992 Eddie Robinson Grambling State University
1993 Barry Alvarez University of Wisconsin
1994 Fred Goldsmith Duke University
1995 Gary Barnett Northwestern University
1996 Bob Sutton U.S. Military Academy
1997 Mike Price Washington State University
1998 Bill Snyder Kansas State University
1999 Frank Beamer Virginia Tech
2000 George O’Leary Georgia Tech
2001 Ralph Friedgen University of Maryland
2002 Jim Tressel The Ohio State University
2003 Bob Stoops University of Oklahoma
2004 Paul Johnson U.S. Naval Academy
2005 Joe Paterno Penn State University
2006 Jim Grobe Wake Forest University
2007 Lloyd Carr University of Michigan
2008 Mack Brown University of Texas
2009 Gary Patterson Texas Christian University
2010 Chris Petersen Boise State University
2011 Dabo Swinney Clemson University
2012 Bill Snyder Kansas State University
2013 David Cutcliffe Duke University
2014 Nick Saban University of Alabama

The Dodd Trophy was established in 1976 to honor the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision (formerly Division 1A) head football coach whose program represents the highest ideals on and off the field. The award honors the coach of a team which enjoys a successful football season, while also stressing the importance of academic excellence and character, as did Coach Dodd’s teams during his 22 years as head football coach of the Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets. Coach Dodd remains one of college football’s legendary figures, both as a coach and a player. Coach Dodd was a native of Galax, Virginia, and played his college ball at the University of Tennessee where his team had 27 wins, one loss and two ties during the three years he played. Coach Dodd was selected to the National College Football Hall of Fame both as a coach and as a player. More information about The Dodd Trophy is available at TheDoddTrophy.com.

The Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl is the ninth-oldest bowl game in the country and is one of New Year’s Six Bowls selected to host the College Football Playoff. In 2014 and 2015, the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl will host games of top nationally ranked teams as assigned by the College Football Playoff Selection Committee. In 2016, the Bowl will host its first Playoff Semifinal (#1 vs. #4 or #2 vs. #3). The Bowl has sold out 18 of the last 20 years and has earned a reputation as one of the most competitive bowls in the country, with 55% of its games being decided by a touchdown or less. The Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl has disbursed more than $137 million in team payouts over its 47-year history and has increased team payout every year since 1996. The Bowl also leads all other bowl games in charitable and scholarship contributions, giving more than $17.5 million to organizations in need since 2002. More information about the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl and its events is available at Chick-fil-APeachBowl.com. For news, updates and insider information, follow us on Twitter or find us on Facebook.