Dodd Trophy Celebrates Dick MacPherson’s 30th Anniversary of Winning Award

Dodd Trophy Celebrates Dick MacPherson’s 30th Anniversary of Winning Award

ATLANTA (Sept. 8, 2017) – The Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation and Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl will celebrate legendary coach Dick MacPherson’s 30th anniversary of winning the national coaching award on September 9 during Syracuse’s home football game against Middle Tennessee State in the Carrier Dome. Several members of the MacPherson family will be on hand as part of the presentation to honor the late Syracuse legend.

“We’re honored to have the opportunity to recognize one of the most iconic figures in the sport with his family and the Orange faithful,” said Jim Terry, chairman of the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation. “Coach MacPherson truly embodied what the Dodd Trophy represents and was beloved for his success on the football field, but also his leadership and character off it.”

The Dodd Trophy celebrates the head coach of a team who enjoys success on the gridiron, while also representing programs with the highest ideals of scholarship, leadership and integrity on and off the field – the three pillars of legendary coach Bobby Dodd’s philosophy.

Coach MacPherson was named Syracuse’s coach in 1981 and restored Syracuse to national prominence as one of the most successful programs of the 1980s. He was awarded The Dodd Trophy in 1987 after he guided the second unbeaten squad in program history to an unblemished 11-0 regular-season record and a tie with Auburn in the Sugar Bowl.

MacPherson led the Orange to five bowl games and a 66-46-4 record during his 10-year tenure, making him the school’s second-winningest coach by the time he left the program in 1990. He was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 2009.

“It is appropriate to honor Coach Dick MacPherson on the same day we recognize the 1987 undefeated team he led,” said Syracuse Director of Athletics John Wildhack. “We all know he was much more than a football coach to so many – as a person, a father, a husband and friend. Today, however, we celebrate him for his outstanding accomplishments as a football coach and highlight the success he and the 1987 Orangemen achieved.”

“Coach MacPherson certainly put Syracuse football back on the map,” said Gary Stokan, Peach Bowl, Inc. CEO and president. “But his legacy will always be remembered by the countless lives he touched, particularly by the student athletes who played under his leadership.”

Since 2014, officials from the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation and Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl have celebrated the major anniversaries of previous winners of The Dodd Trophy by honoring them on-field during a game on their campus. Most recently, legendary coaches Vince Dooley (Georgia), Bobby Bowden (Florida State), Bobby Ross (Georgia Tech), George Welsh (Virginia) and Dick Sheridan (N.C. State) were all recognized at their respective schools.

The winner of the 2017 Dodd Trophy will be announced in Atlanta during Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Week. A panel consisting of all previous winners, national media, a member of the Dodd family and a College Football Hall of Fame member will identify the final list of potential recipients at the conclusion of the 2017 season.


About The Dodd Trophy
The Dodd Trophy was established in 1976 to honor the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision (formerly Division 1A) head football coach whose program represents the highest ideals on and off the field. The award honors the coach of a team which enjoys a successful football season, while also stressing the importance of academic excellence and character, as did Coach Dodd’s teams during his 22 years as head football coach of the Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets. Coach Dodd remains one of college football’s legendary figures, both as a coach and a player. Coach Dodd was a native of Galax, Virginia, and played his college ball at the University of Tennessee where his team had 27 wins, one loss and two ties during the three years he played. Coach Dodd was selected to the National College Football Hall of Fame both as a coach and as a player. Additional information about the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation can be found at For news, updates and insider information, follow us on Twitter at @DoddTrophy or find us on Facebook at

About Peach Bowl, Inc.

Peach Bowl, Inc. operates the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl, one of the New Year’s Six Bowls selected to host the College Football Playoff. This season, the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl is celebrating its Golden Season, including its 50-year history, traditions and successes as the nation’s ninth-oldest bowl organization. The Bowl has earned a reputation as one of the most competitive bowls in the country, with 51 percent of its games being decided by a touchdown or less. Peach Bowl, Inc. has disbursed $160 million in team payouts over its 50-year history and has increased team payout every year since 1996. The Bowl also leads all other bowl game organizations in charitable and scholarship contributions, giving more than $21 million to organizations in need since 2002. Peach Bowl, Inc. also runs the Chick-fil-A Kickoff Game, the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Challenge charity golf tournament and manages The Dodd Trophy national coach of the year award. For more information, visit or follow us on Twitter at @CFAPeachBowl and find us on Facebook at