Dodd Trophy Celebrates Frank Beamer’s 20th Anniversary of Winning Award

Beamer to be recognized during Virginia Tech home game against Wake Forest

ATLANTA (Nov. 7, 2019) — The Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation and Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl will celebrate legendary coach Frank Beamer’s 20th anniversary of winning the national coaching award on Nov. 9 during Virginia Tech’s home football game against Wake Forest.

The Dodd Trophy celebrates the head coach of a team who enjoys success on the gridiron, while also representing programs with the highest ideals of scholarship, leadership and integrity on and off the field – the three pillars of legendary coach Bobby Dodd’s philosophy.

Beamer was named the Dodd Trophy Coach of the Year for the 1999 season after leading Virginia Tech to an appearance in the BCS National Championship at the Sugar Bowl following the program’s first 11-win season and first undefeated regular season in school history.

“Coach Beamer is one of the game’s all-time greats and turned Virginia Tech into a national powerhouse,” said Jim Terry, chairman of the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation. “We are honored to be able to celebrate his accomplishments with the Virginia Tech faithful in Lane Stadium this Saturday.”

The winningest coach in Virginia Tech history, Frank Beamer’s 280 career victories rank sixth in FBS history and are the 13th most by a college football coach at any NCAA division. He led the Hokies to their first-ever national title game appearance as part of an impressive streak of 23 consecutive bowl berths in his final 23 seasons.

Under Beamer, the Hokies posted five top-10 finishes and became one of only six programs in college football history to go to a bowl game in at least 20-straight seasons. A five-time conference Coach of the Year, Beamer also won three Big East titles and added four ACC titles during his time in Blacksburg.

“Coach Beamer is an iconic figure for the Virginia Tech program and college football as a whole,” said Gary Stokan, CEO and president of Peach Bowl, Inc. “His name will always be synonymous with Hokie football. He was, and is, a living personification of Bobby Dodd’s principles of promoting graduation and leading with integrity.”

Since 2014, officials from the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation and Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl have celebrated the major anniversaries of previous winners of The Dodd Trophy by honoring them on the field during a game on their campus. Most recently, legendary coaches Vince Dooley (Georgia), Bobby Bowden (Florida State), Bobby Ross (Georgia Tech), George Welsh (Virginia), Dick Sheridan (NC State), Dick MacPherson (Syracuse) and Don Nehlen (West Virginia) were all recognized at their respective schools.

The winner of the 2019 Dodd Trophy will be announced in Atlanta during bowl week of this year’s College Football Playoff Semifinal at the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Week. A panel consisting of all previous winners, national media, a member of the Dodd family and a College Football Hall of Fame member will identify the final list of potential recipients at the conclusion of the 2019 season.