Kirk Ferentz Named Dodd Trophy Coach of the Week

Former Dodd Trophy Winner Cracks Top 25 After Impressive Performance Against No. 6 Ohio State

Officials from the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation and Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl today announced that Iowa Head Football Coach Kirk Ferentz has been selected as The Dodd Trophy Coach of the Week.

The Dodd Trophy Coach of the Week honors the football coach whose program embodies the award’s three pillars of scholarship, leadership and integrity, while also having success on the playing field during the previous week.

“A win over a top ten team is always a feat, but a 31-point, dominating performance was a statement moment for Coach Ferentz and his Iowa Hawkeyes,” said Jim Terry, chairman of the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation. “During his nearly two decades leading the Hawkeyes, Ferentz has built the program into one of the most consistent winners in all of college football.”

This past weekend was one to remember for the Hawkeyes, as Iowa scored 31 first-half points to knock off No. 6 Ohio State, 55-24 at Kinnick Stadium. Iowa held Ohio State to 24 points, 22 points below the Buckeyes’ season average, representing the eighth time in nine games this season where the Hawkeyes held opponents below their scoring average. The victory marked Iowa’s first win over a top 10 Buckeye team since 1983, and sprung Iowa into the top 25 of the AP Poll. The win also made the Hawkeyes bowl eligible for the 16th time in the last 17 seasons.

As the longest-tenured, active head coach in college football, Coach Ferentz is in his 19th season at the helm of the Hawkeyes. The four-time Big Ten Coach of the Year guided Iowa to Big Ten titles in 2002 and 2004. More recently, Ferentz led the Hawkeyes to a perfect regular season in 2015, setting a school record with 12 wins (12-2).  The Hawkeyes went on to win the Big Ten Conference West Division (8-0) to earn Iowa’s sixth invitation to the Rose Bowl, the first appearance for Iowa in Pasadena in 25 years. The record-setting year ultimately helped pave the way for Ferentz to be named the recipient of the 2015 Dodd Trophy Coach of the Year.

On top of his numerous coaching accolades, Ferentz is best known for his involvement in the local community. Ferentz and his wife, Mary, are very enthusiastic supporters of the University of Iowa’s Stead Family Children’s Hospital. The couple recently donated $1 million dollars to the hospital to help create a program for neonatal research. Under Ferentz, the football team partnered with the University of Iowa’s Stead Family Children’s Hospital to launch its “Kid Captain” program to honor pediatric patients and celebrate their inspirational stories.

Academics are also very important to Ferentz and his team. The Hawkeyes posted an Academic Progress Rating (APR) score of 971 last season, and the Ferentz family also established the “Ferentz Family Pediatric Research and Education Endowment Fund” in 2007.

“As a former recipient of the Dodd Trophy, Coach Ferentz truly embodies the three pillars of scholarship, leadership and integrity,” said Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Chairman Percy Vaughn.  “He’s been a great ambassador for what the award stands for, and we’re proud to see his continued success at Iowa with this marquee win.”

The Dodd Trophy presented by the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl – along with the Dodd Trophy Coach of the Week award – celebrates the head coach of a FBS team who enjoys success on the gridiron, while also stressing the importance of scholarship, leadership and integrity.

2017 Dodd Coach of the Week Winners
Week Coach School
1 Jim Mora UCLA
2 Lincoln Riley Oklahoma
3 Dan Mullen Mississippi State
4 Gary Patterson TCU
5 Mike Leach Washington State
6 Matt Campbell Iowa State
7 Dino Babers Syracuse
8 Brian Kelly Notre Dame
9 Urban Meyer Ohio State
10 Kirk Ferentz Iowa

A panel consisting of all previous winners, national media, a member of the Dodd family and a College Football Hall of Fame member will identify the final list of potential recipients at the conclusion of the 2017 season. The winner of the 2017 Dodd Trophy will be announced in Atlanta during Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Week.


About the Dodd Trophy
The Dodd Trophy was established in 1976 to honor the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision (formerly Division 1A) head football coach whose program represents the highest ideals on and off the field. The award honors the coach of a team which enjoys a successful football season, while also stressing the importance of academic excellence and character, as did Coach Dodd’s teams during his 22 years as head football coach of the Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets. Coach Dodd remains one of college football’s legendary figures, both as a coach and a player. Coach Dodd was a native of Galax, Virginia, and played his college ball at the University of Tennessee where his team had 27 wins, one loss and two ties during the three years he played. Coach Dodd was selected to the National College Football Hall of Fame both as a coach and as a player. Additional information about the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation can be found at For news, updates and insider information, follow us on Twitter at @DoddTrophy or find us on Facebook at

About Peach Bowl, Inc.
Peach Bowl, Inc. operates the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl, one of the New Year’s Six Bowls selected to host the College Football Playoff. This season, the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl is celebrating its Golden Season, including its 50-year history of traditions and successes as the nation’s ninth-oldest bowl organization. The Bowl has earned a reputation as one of the most competitive bowls in the country, with 51 percent of its games being decided by a touchdown or less. Peach Bowl, Inc. has disbursed $160 million in team payouts over its 50-year history and has increased team payout every year since 1996. The Bowl also leads all other bowl game organizations in charitable and scholarship contributions, giving more than $21 million to organizations in need since 2002. Peach Bowl, Inc. also runs the Chick-fil-A Kickoff Game, the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Challenge charity golf tournament and manages The Dodd Trophy national coach of the year award. For more information, visit or follow us on Twitter at @CFAPeachBowl and find us on Facebook at