Stanford Coach David Shaw Wins 2017 Dodd Trophy

Shaw recognized for achievements on the field, as well as in the classroom and throughout the community

ATLANTA (December 31, 2017) – Officials from the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation and the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl today announced that Stanford Head Coach David Shaw has been named the winner of the 2017 Dodd Trophy.

Presented annually by the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl, The Dodd Trophy, college football’s most coveted coaching award, honors the head football coach whose program embodies the award’s three pillars of scholarship, leadership and integrity, while also having success on the playing field throughout the season.

“We are proud to present college football’s most prestigious coaching award to Coach Shaw this year,” said Jim Terry, chairman of the Dodd Foundation. “Coach Dodd always emphasized that a coach’s role reached well beyond the football field into all aspects of life. Coach Shaw truly exemplifies the spirit of the award with his continued commitment to excellence in the classroom, on the football field and throughout the community.”

The 2017 Pac-12 Coach of the Year’s involvement reaches far beyond the football field. Since taking over as the Bradford M. Freeman Director of Football in 2011, Coach Shaw has invested his time creating winners on and off the field. In the classroom, his student-athletes have maintained a high level of academic excellence earning an Academic Progress Rating (APR) score of 985 and a graduation success rate of 96 percent. These impressive numbers earned Stanford a spot among Clemson, Duke, Northwestern and Wisconsin as the only FBS football teams to earn APR Public Recognition Awards from the NCAA in each of the past four years. To cap off the season, two Stanford student-athletes earned Academic All-America honors. This marks the first time since 2010 two Cardinal players have earned this honor in the same season.

In the community, Coach Shaw represents the Pac-12 on the AFCA Ethics Committee and is one of 18 individuals named to USA Football’s newly created Football Advisory Committee. Last year, he was also the only head football coach named to the NCAA Commission to Combat Campus Sexual Violence. In addition to his work with the Commission, Shaw has been a big advocate of the Set The Expectation pledge, aimed at working to end the culture of sexual assault and domestic violence among college and high school athletes. Stanford players became the first university in the country to sign the Set The Expectation student pledge, stating they would use their platforms to speak out against sexual assault and violence against women.

On the field, Coach Shaw and the Cardinal proved their resilience by overcoming a 1-2 start to the season to come back and win eight of its final nine regular-season games, including victories over No. 9 Washington and No. 8 Notre Dame. Stanford clinched the Pac-12 North Division and made its fourth Pac-12 Championship Game appearance under Shaw. Stanford’s win against California in week 12 was Shaw’s 75th victory as head coach is the most-ever by a Stanford head coach. He has posted eight or more wins in nine consecutive seasons. This season under Shaw, Bryce Love was named the 2017 Pac-12 Offensive Player of the Year and Walker Little earned 2017 Pac-12 Freshman Offensive Co-Player of the Year. This marks the fifth time in the last nine years that Stanford has claimed the conference offensive player of the year honor.

“Coach Shaw’s performance on and off the field epitomizes what the Dodd Trophy is all about,” said Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Chairman Percy Vaughn. “He has long exhibited the ideals that are representative of Coach Dodd – scholarship, leadership and integrity – so we are honored to recognize him and the impact he has had not only on his student-athletes, but also to the Palo Alto and broader college football community as a whole.”

Seven of the nation’s top head coaches (Paul Chryst, Pat Fitzgerald, Scott Frost, Mark Richt, David Shaw, Kirby Smart and Dabo Swinney) were named finalists for this year’s award by a panel consisting of all previous winners, national media, a member of the Dodd family and a College Football Hall of Fame member. Coach Shaw was selected as this year’s recipient by the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation. Of note, winners of the award from the previous two years and first-year coaches at an institution are not eligible to win the award.


About the Dodd Trophy
The Dodd Trophy was established in 1976 to honor the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision (formerly Division 1A) head football coach whose program represents the highest ideals on and off the field. The award honors the coach of a team which enjoys a successful football season, while also stressing the importance of academic excellence and character, as did Coach Dodd’s teams during his 22 years as head football coach of the Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets. Coach Dodd remains one of college football’s legendary figures, both as a coach and a player. Coach Dodd was a native of Galax, Virginia, and played his college ball at the University of Tennessee where his team had 27 wins, one loss and two ties during the three years he played. Coach Dodd was selected to the National College Football Hall of Fame both as a coach and as a player. Additional information about the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation can be found at For news, updates and insider information, follow us on Twitter at @DoddTrophy or find us on Facebook at


About Peach Bowl, Inc.

Peach Bowl, Inc. operates the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl, one of the New Year’s Six Bowls selected to host the College Football Playoff. This season, the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl is celebrating its Golden Season, including its 50-year history of traditions and successes as the nation’s ninth-oldest bowl organization. The Bowl has earned a reputation as one of the most competitive bowls in the country, with 53 percent of its games being decided by a touchdown or less. Peach Bowl, Inc. has disbursed $160 million in team payouts over its 50-year history. The Bowl also leads all other bowl game organizations in charitable and scholarship contributions, giving more than $21 million to organizations in need since 2002. Peach Bowl, Inc. also runs the Chick-fil-A Kickoff Game, the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Challenge charity golf tournament and manages The Dodd Trophy national coach of the year award. For more information, visit or follow us on Twitter at @CFAPeachBowl and find us on Facebook at