The Dodd Trophy Announces 2015 Finalists

ATLANTA (December 16, 2015) – Officials from the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation and Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl have announced the finalists for the 2015 Dodd Trophy. Finalists include six of the nation’s top coaches in college football.

“The head coaches named as finalists represent programs with the highest ideals of scholarship,  leadership, and integrity on and off the field – the three pillars of legendary coach Bobby Dodd’s coaching philosophy,” said Gary Stokan, Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl President and CEO. “Each of the finalists sits at the helm of programs with winning records, the nation’s top APR scores and graduation rates, and a strong commitment to community service.”

“We’re honored to recognize these head coaches whose teams have enjoyed successful football seasons, while also stressing the importance of academic excellence and character,” said Jim Terry, Chairman of the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation. “The Dodd Trophy celebrates all aspects of the football program, not just on-field success, and our finalists have certainly knocked it out of the park.”

This year’s finalists represent five conferences and have combined for a 2015 record of 67-9. Overall, the six coaches have a combined 58 years of head coaching experience and 469 wins between them. 2015 Dodd Trophy Finalists:

The 2015 Dodd Trophy Finalists:

Coach School CFP Ranking 14-15 APR
Mark Dantonio Michigan State No. 3 973
Kirk Ferentz Iowa No. 5 966
Jim McElwain Florida No. 19 971
Ken Niumatalolo Navy No. 21 974
David Shaw Stanford No. 6 987
Dabo Swinney Clemson No. 1 984

Finalists were selected by a panel consisting of all previous winners, national media, a member of the Dodd family and a College Football Hall of Fame member.

The ultimate winner of the 2015 Dodd Trophy will be selected from the list of finalists by the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation, and will be announced in Atlanta during Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Week.


The Dodd Trophy was established in 1976 to honor the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision (formerly Division 1A) head football coach whose program represents the highest ideals on and off the field. The award honors the coach of a team which enjoys a successful football season, while also stressing the importance of academic excellence and character, as did Coach Dodd’s teams during his 22 years as head football coach of the Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets. Coach Dodd remains one of college football’s legendary figures, both as a coach and a player. Coach Dodd was a native of Galax, Virginia, and played his college ball at the University of Tennessee where his team had 27 wins, one loss and two ties during the three years he played. Coach Dodd was selected to the National College Football Hall of Fame both as a coach and as a player. More information about The Dodd Trophy is available at

The Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl is the ninth-oldest bowl game in the country and is one of New Year’s Six Bowls selected to host the College Football Playoff. In 2014 and 2015, the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl will host games of top nationally ranked teams as assigned by the College Football Playoff Selection Committee. In 2016, the Bowl will host its first Playoff Semifinal (#1 vs. #4 or #2 vs. #3). The Bowl has sold out 18 of the last 20 years and has earned a reputation as one of the most competitive bowls in the country, with 55% of its games being decided by a touchdown or less. The Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl has disbursed more than $137 million in team payouts over its 47-year history and has increased team payout every year since 1996. The Bowl also leads all other bowl games in charitable and scholarship contributions, giving more than $17.5 million to organizations in need since 2002. More information about the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl and its events is available at For news, updates and insider information, follow us on Twitter at @CFAPeachBowl or find us on Facebook at